PDA

View Full Version : Talisman magic recommendations

Gemma
1st April 2012, 09:35 AM
Hi,

I don't know if this fits into this forum but I'm looking for some recommendations for good reliable talisman magic resources so I may learn about it, as I was advised to do this.

I've Googled but I have no idea whatsoever which resources are worth reading, and a lot of it seems dodgy.

To give a better idea of what I am trying to achieve, I have a nice amulet which is made from copper and brass, and it has an Eye of Horus symbol engraved in it. I need to find out how to use this amulet to bring protective energies closer to me.

I hope that made sense.

Cheers.

CFTraveler
1st April 2012, 04:18 PM
Hi Gemma.
I don't know a lot about talisman magic per se, but I do know about Egyptian Mythology, not the stuff that's out there, but the stuff you learn in school, because Egyptology is one of the things I studied in college.
I'd have to look in my (very old) notes as to the meaning of symbology (hieroglyphs had more than one meaning, like ancient Hebrew; the literal (phonetic) meaning and the symbolic meaning of what the figures meant, and I know that's in there somewhere.
As to the mythology, this is what I remember: There were quadruplets- Osiris and Seth, and Isis and Nepthys. Osiris married Isis and Seth married Nepthys. Osiris was the fertility god, and Seth was the death god, and Seth was jealous of Osiris, because he had a better job. So Seth killed Osiris and chopped up in many bits, Isis found his penis and impregnated herself with it, and she got pregnant with baby Horus.
In this context Horus is the inheritor of the power, of both life and death, and is symbolically the 'cosmic child'. Many black madonnas are actually statues of Isis and baby Horus.
When I find my notes I can get more information, and possibly correct any inaccuracies I might have put up there.

ButterflyWoman
2nd April 2012, 03:20 AM