PDA

View Full Version : can i vent here?

fiatlux
23rd June 2014, 06:06 AM
i am a mental health therapist (bbs registered mft intern). i started a new job where i have to practice psychotherapy with Chinese clients. Chinese is my first language but I lack proficiency in it as I was born and raised in California and can use English much better than Chinese. I hate it..I struggle with it. i never even intended to take on this job. In fact, I never had interest in applying for it but only did so because it was referred to me. I declined their job offer initially. They called back and I told them why I declined. They talked me out of it and I negotiated with them for a higher salary. I got what I wanted in terms of salary, but I dread going to work. I feel so out of place. I feel so handicapped. I hate the way that I have to operate within the confinement of the Department of Mental Health. I hate the system. I feel like the way psychotherapy is being practiced in these government funded programs are deviating from traditional counseling and are largely based on symptoms management rather than working on the roots of the problems.