PDA

View Full Version : Problem staying in LD state

D.B.
3rd December 2006, 01:10 AM
Hi, I've been practicing NEW for about 8 months now and training to project for about half of that.

RB's tutorials state that a LD is a good place to start learning how to project, but my actual LD's are few and far between(I should mention that the majority of my LDs and memorable dreams occured while I was still in summer football practice), and I seem to have the same problem with them every time. two cases specifically I can remember, both times I was in a bookstore/library I dunno which, looking for a book when I spontaniously became aware that I was dreaming. as soon as this happened I had about 30 seconds of clarity until it sort of became hard to see things. it wasn't like everything was dark, as described by RB, rather, it was white (kind of) like I'd just had a bright light shined in my eyes. I desperately tried to stay in dream state, but I became aware of my breath, then awareness of my whole body followed and I woke up.

It seems to me that I get too excited to remain, but intentially recalling long term memory seems to have a hand in waking me up as well. I just want to know if my experiences are unique, or if there's a commonly known method to prevent this sort of thing.

OmegaWolf
4th December 2006, 03:42 PM
It seems to me that I get too excited to remain, but intentially recalling long term memory seems to have a hand in waking me up as well. I just want to know if my experiences are unique, or if there's a commonly known method to prevent this sort of thing.

There are a couple of techniques that I have read about. One is to look at the ground in your dream, another is to spin. I found them in this article:

http://www.lucidity.com/NL7.34.RU.SpinFlowRub.html

This site has a lot of good info on Lucid Dreaming. The author whose work the site revolves around was the first to scientifically validate the Lucid Dreaming state.

Keep working!

Omega

cainam_nazier