PDA

View Full Version : drumming...

Zak
11th June 2007, 03:05 PM
Anyone experienced shamanic rumming or even regular drumming as altering your state of consciousness?

I am a drummer and whenever I play I o into an altered state but it's usually an energized one.

I've never had someone play a drum over me shamanically but I've listened to a recording and it's quite nice. something about the beat makes you go into yourself, depends on the speed and rhythm too though.

Tom
11th June 2007, 03:18 PM
Although I also have a recording that I bought, I haven't actually done anything with it. It is of the sort of shamanic drumming you are talking about. It has both a single drummer for half the CD and a pair of drummers on the other half of the CD with the drumming that signals time to come back. The trouble was that I didn't really get what I was supposed to do with it.

Zak
11th June 2007, 09:07 PM
Hahaha, that's neat that's like the one someone lent me!

I didnt find it did much except make me relax.

I can see it bing more impactful in real life. I've been present in a room while someone had it being done to them and I was aiding in the healing but never on me directly. Just feeling the vibration in the room was enough to feel how strong it was though.

Sound and intention in healing is uite powerful... something I am exploring more and more...

Korpo
11th June 2007, 09:11 PM
Isn't the thing that makes it work for tranceing either to actually drum yourself or dance with the rhythm?

Oliver

Zak
12th June 2007, 02:07 AM
yeah, I think some rhythms can create like an internal dance if you are relaxed... Never experienced it though except to music on a cd.

Korpo
12th June 2007, 04:42 AM
"internal dance"? Like sitting on your bum and letting the liver do the twostep? :lol:

I actually meant getting up and start some real workout. In the movies they dance till half-crazed. Okay, that's Hollywood to you... ;)

Oliver

CFTraveler
12th June 2007, 04:43 PM