PDA

View Full Version : kundalini, psychic attack, or do I need a shrink???

MD2BE
2nd July 2007, 07:59 PM
Help, someone! I have been experiencing very negative things for the past 6 months. I am a medical student, and have been worked up by 2 doctors, about to see a third, maybe, to find what might be causing my symptoms listed below:

1. dizziness (all the time)
2. shortness of breath
3. sensations of choking
4. fever
5. weakness, numbness/tingling in hands, feet
6. achy muscles at neck and shoulders
7. feelings of fear, doom
8. digestion problems. e.g., eating less, no weight less, acid reflux
9. weird vibrations in left foot, like "trilling"
10. swollen left hand upon awaking

My internist feels that 1-3 and 7 are classic textbook panic attacks, which she says are common for med students around boards time. Her treatment? To "go to my happy place". The more I try deep breathing and relaxing, the worse it gets. Had an MRI done, it was normal. For 8, she tells me to stop caffeine and other acid-producing foods for the acid refux. Hard to do, but cut down to 1 cup coffee/day. Lately, I get mild diarrhea. For 5, she sent me to a rheumatologist because my labs came back with a positive ANA and elevated sedimentation rate, which points to lupus. High sed rates usually go with infection, but my white cell count not elevated for infection. Other labs all normal. I do not have the classic signs/symptoms, eg facial rash and joint pains, which tend to present first with lupus. I had more specific labs done and am waiting for those results. 9 and 10 started just 2 days ago. My internist wants me to see a neurologist next, plus mention of a psychiatrist. 4 just started 2 days ago as well.