PDA

View Full Version : Physical exercise with NEW work

Caelrie
11th November 2007, 06:05 AM
I looked and didn't see this answered anywhere. I found a similar title but it wasn't about what I thought it would be. So I figure I'll ask.

I'm just starting energy work, but I also exercise at the gym daily. Does rigorous exercise hamper energy work in any way? Should I be doing the energy stuff before exercising? After? Another part of the day? Or doesn't it even matter?

ButterflyWoman
11th November 2007, 06:24 AM
I actually find that exercise and energy work go hand in hand. I've been doing energy work for a few months now and I've found that it makes me enjoy physical exercise more. Sometimes I do both at the same time, actually (though it depends on the kind of exercise, of course).

journyman161
11th November 2007, 08:44 AM
I think it depends how you do the physical work. If you do it with attention to what is happening, rather than rote moving of muscles, then the physical IS energy work. Those you see in gyms watching TV or listening to MP3's on headphones are unlikely to be doing energy work as it is discussed here. AD is more about the Being doing things with the body, not simply the moving of muscles while the mind is elsewhere.

I'd say it would be of benefit to do the exercise while focussing on which part is moving, noticing the Ch'i movements & feeling the body parts in motion - this would be energy work.

Caelrie
11th November 2007, 09:02 AM
Thanks you two. :D

I don't think I've done nearly enough energy stuff (I just started yesterday) to even have any idea what my energy is doing while I exercise, but I'll give it a try.

journyman161
11th November 2007, 09:06 AM