As I type this it is 4.54am. Got up naturally at 2am, read about lucid dreams and OBEs for 45 minutes, went to the toilet. I’m rhythm napping in F’s room (he’s on sleep over). I’ve never used this room before. A few adjustments needed. Ticking clock banished and window closed.

I consciously register a single beep from the timer as I drift off.

I wake up in F’s room convinced that my attempt has failed. There’s TV on in this room (no actual TVs in bedrooms at our place - we don’t believe in it). On TV, there’s a lady in a British sitcom. She’s thin, 30-ish with curly blond hair. The sitcom is based on her humorous disregard for every one else’s feelings. There’s an opening song with her walking with various work colleagues somehow reminiscent of a Kylie Minogue clip where you see multiple Kylies. I tell H, my youngest, who must have come into the room to turn it off. He tries and the TV doesn’t respond. I repeat the request twice more and the TV doesn’t respond. It’s at this point I realise I’m dreaming.

I seem to rise up in some kind of windy vortex in the room now. The dream maintains its integrity but I seem to have forgotten what happens. It got a bit wild and I think it went on for sometime. I wish I could remember.